Fire on the mountain: Beware the Twitter | Arkansas Blog

Max has a report this morning concerning an incident on a local Twitter account called “Arkansas Scanning.” This is of interest to me because I often report traffic, weather, and police activity on my personal Twitter account, @jpatlynch. Here is a link to the Arkansas Times Blog story.

Fire on the mountain: Beware the Twitter | Arkansas Blog.

Let me tell you plainly that I am not “Arkansas Scanning.” My content is sometimes similar and this seems like a good time to discuss some of the rules I have imposed upon myself for Tweets of developing situations. No locations given of SWAT activities. No names of patients being transported and no detailed personal medical information. Suicide reports are avoided, unless it happened in a public place and there is some actual reason that the circumstances might constitute “news.” When I Tweet about something happening now, I attempt to be as accurate as possible. This harder than it looks. There is some judgment involved.

I am inconsistent in all of my internet ventures. None of them produce a dime of revenue, so I Tweet what I am able to understand from my scanner. I usually work with the scanner on, but I do not spend all day at my desk. It would be great to develop a reliable Twitter feed of news traffic and weather, but it would demand a sponsor. The return on that would be client “mentions” on the feed. It would be perfect for an insurance agency, security system, or any business interested in a strong local image. It would not be an enormously expensive commitment. Maybe some businesses could share it.

Anyway, that’s the low-down on Twitter information. I use Twitter a lot to dispense (and receive) information, and to promote my blogs. My Twitter feed also goes straight to my Facebook page. Twitter is important for many professional people. Don’t be afraid to Tweet.

About patlynch
I am a broadcaster in Arkansas, a former freelance writer and political columnist in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. Writing Coach. Speaker. Director of the Christian Foundations for Ministry program, and presently enrolled in the Anglican School of Ministry Master of Ministry program.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,520 other followers

