Ethiopian News Forum: Is Shale Gas the Climate Bill’s New Bargaining Chip?

This one beats all. First thing, I don’t have a dog in the fight except that I do reside on planet Earth, and I do breathe air, and I would like to hang around for a few more birthdays. The most recent bill to curb carbon emissions looks like more corporate welfare from over here, but maybe I’m wrong.

All of this leads us to a little item I came across in the Ethiopian Review (I have no idea!). Its about what looks like another shameless shell game that leaves the rest of us on our own to deal with global warming as best as we can. Opps, well the cat is out of the bag now. Yes, global warming is real, and if it’s not, we should not be fooling around with that kind of risky stuff anyway.

Natural gas may have an important role in our energy future, though I seem to recall that it is a crushing expense and I am glad to be all-electric. It looks like the public interest is the last thing anybody will ever think about on this one and I am sure Blanche and Mark will be on the look out for big money interests in the Fayetteville Shale.

About patlynch
I am a broadcaster in Arkansas, a former freelance writer and political columnist in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. Writing Coach. Speaker. Director of the Christian Foundations for Ministry program, and presently enrolled in the Anglican School of Ministry Master of Ministry program.

Leave a Reply

