Touchdown Club returns Monday!

David Bazel passed along the good news. See ya’ there, David (and Rex Nelson too!)

LITTLE ROCK (August 18, 2009) – The Little Rock Touchdown Club and Metropolitan National Bank kicked off the 2009 season and announced the club’s line-up of renowned speakers and the state’s finest in football.

During a news conference held today in the lobby of the Metropolitan Tower, the two organizations highlighted the club’s upcoming schedule, including an annual awards banquet in January. With the financial support of Metropolitan National Bank and Chesapeake Energy Corporation, the football club will again host a banquet that recognizes coaches and players from every Arkansas college and numerous high schools throughout the state. This will be the sixth year for the event.

“It’s our privilege to support the Little Rock Touchdown Club for the fifth straight year,” said Lunsford W. Bridges, president and CEO of Metropolitan National Bank.  “We look forward to celebrating this football season with fellow fans.”  As a first-time sponsor of the Little Rock Touchdown Club, director of corporate development for Chesapeake Energy Corporation Danny Games said, “Chesapeake Energy is pleased to help sponsor the 2009 Little Rock Touchdown Club.  It’s great to see people from different walks of life come together to share their passion for football and the sense of community the sport creates.”

The club’s first meeting of the 2009 season will be held from 11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. August 24th at Embassy Suites in Little Rock. Members will meet weekly throughout the fall season and once a month during the winter and spring months. National and regional speakers from the world of college football will address members each week.

The past few years’ lineup featured a who’s who of college and professional football speakers on both the state and national level.  Some of the club’s past speakers include Barry Switzer, Ken Hatfield, James Street, Bob McKay, Ivan Maisel, Butch Davis, Johnny Majors, Pat Forde, Jackie Sherrill, Frank Broyles, David Cutcliffe, Houston Nutt, Danny Ford, Pete Cordelli, Paul Finebaum, Jimmy Sexton, John Thompson, Chris Mortensen, Pat Dye, Grant Teaff, Walt Colman, Rick Schaeffer, Kevin Scanlon, Gus Malzahn, Marcus Allen, and Keith Jackson.

“There is no question this is going to be the biggest year in the history of the Little Rock Touchdown Club,” said David Bazzel, club president.  “To have Coach Petrino here the Monday of the first Razorback game with a special welcome by Governor Beebe is extremely exciting.  Then, to include appearances by high profile coaches like Tommy Tuberville and Phil Fulmer all in the first month of the season, along with the rest of the super list of speakers throughout the year means if you love football, your Mondays have to be spent at the Little Rock Touchdown Club.”

In her fourth year as executive director of the Little Rock Touchdown Club, Kelly Lasseigne will coordinate the club’s weekly meetings and will serve as the organization’s member contact.  Lasseigne’s work experience includes media, sales, and advertising with ARSN, Today’s THV, KATV and the sports information office at the University of Arkansas.  In addition, she was a member of the planning committee for the SEC Women’s Tournament at ALLTEL Arena in 2006.

Club membership is $50 per year for all returning and new members. The exclusive 50 Yard Line Seat Membership allows a priority seat reserved for all members for a $250 annual fee.  Weekly lunches are $15 for returning members and $25 for guests.  New this year for the Little Rock Touchdown Club is the High School Player of the Week award.  Each honoree will be announced at the club meeting.  For more information about the Little Rock Touchdown Club, please visit

The annual awards banquet will be held in January 2010 and honors players and coaches from every high school division, as well as players from every college in Arkansas.  It also recognizes the SEC offensive and defensive players, Coach of the Year, National Player of the Year and names the winner of the Paul Eells Award.  The Little Rock Touchdown Club will team with the sports staff of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette to honor this year’s players and coaches.

About Little Rock Touchdown Club

The Little Rock Touchdown Club, which began in August 2004, has become one of the nation’s fastest-growing football clubs. Having started with 17 founding members, the organization has quickly grown to more than 500 members. The club meets every Monday from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. during the fall at Embassy Suites in west Little Rock. In its inaugural year, the club hosted an awards banquet recognizing a Most Valuable Player from every Arkansas college football team. Awards were also presented to a Coach and Player of the Year from every high school classification. A national Collegiate Player of the Year, SEC Defensive and Offensive Players of the Year and SEC Coach of the Year were also named.  For more information, visit the LRTDC website at

About Chesapeake Energy Corporation

Celebrating its 20th year, Chesapeake Energy Corporation is the largest independent producer of natural gas in the United States.  It is also one of the largest producers in Arkansas’ Fayetteville Shale, the second most productive play in the United States.  Chesapeake operates 20 rigs and has 405 producing wells in White, Cleburne, Conway, Faulkner, Jackson and Van Buren counties in Arkansas.  For more information, visit the Chesapeake Energy website at

About Metropolitan National Bank
Metropolitan National Bank is one of the state’s largest banks. Founded in 1970, the bank has assets exceeding $1.59 billion. Metropolitan has 51 branches and 68 ATMs in central and northwest Arkansas. Metropolitan is headquartered in the state’s tallest building, the Metropolitan Tower in Little Rock. For more information about Metropolitan National Bank, visit our website at


About patlynch
I am a broadcaster in Arkansas, a former freelance writer and political columnist in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. Writing Coach. Speaker. Director of the Christian Foundations for Ministry program, and presently enrolled in the Anglican School of Ministry Master of Ministry program.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: