State Sen. Joyce Elliott will file for Second Congressional District today

I like Joyce a lot.

LITTLE ROCK – State Sen. Joyce Elliott will officially become a candidate for the United States Congress in Arkansas ’s 2nd District by filing the necessary paperwork at the State Capitol today at 12:30 pm.

“I will be a Congresswoman for all of the people in Arkansas ’s 2nd district,” Elliott said.  “I believe all Arkansans from every walk of life share the desire to improve our children’s education, create better healthcare choices for our families, and reignite the economic opportunities that will improve all of our lives. I am so grateful for the opportunity to continue my journey of public service. Few things in my life have been more rewarding than working for the people and the state I love. I am ready, energized and prepared to get to work for the families of Arkansas ,” Elliott announced.

“I am proud of my proven record of fighting for the things that truly matter to Arkansas families like education and healthcare,” she said. ”I have made a point of always listening to all sides before finding common ground.  That’s what we need in Washington in order to get things done for the people of Arkansas . If I am privileged to serve in the United States Congress, I will work hard on restoring fiscal responsibility, creating jobs, insuring access to healthcare, and improving education.”

“I believe Arkansans want a leader with a passionate, but balanced approach to solving our nation’s problems. They don’t want cheap political victories, they want and deserve an effective Congress,” Elliott said when she announced her candidacy last month. “That is not too much to ask.  We must do better and we will do better.  That is why I am running for Congress.”

About patlynch
I am a broadcaster in Arkansas, a former freelance writer and political columnist in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. Writing Coach. Speaker. Director of the Christian Foundations for Ministry program, and presently enrolled in the Anglican School of Ministry Master of Ministry program.

Leave a Reply

