Another Labor Day, another Lyncho lament

By now, everybody on earth knows that I was fired from my first radio job at KWOE radio station in Clinton, Oklahoma on Labor Day 1970. Last year I returned to the “scene of the crime” and got some pictures of historic Neptune Park outside of Clinton.

Former studio of KWOE, presently local station transmitter site in Clinton, Ok.

It is also common knowledge that I was dismissed on a national holiday supposedly intended to celebrate the accomplishments of working people because the station owner, the late Lonnie Preston, found an eager young man who was willing to do the job at rock bottom wages (although I was by no means expensive). It is furthermore stipulated that Pat Lynch’s replacement climbed the station tower (still standing and 300 feet high) without a safety belt and, again, for rock bottom prices. Let’s face it, this is an early example of my failure to personally commit my entire life energy for radio.

Don’t get the idea that I was some kind of principled, living by a higher moral standard, snoot – like I am today. I was just more interested in the beer and pizza (and interesting female companionship) available right across the street in the Office Bar.

I was also fired from KEXO in Grand Junction, Co back in 1978 around Labor Day by a guy named Dick Elliott. Dick, no hard feelings, even though you did bag me after ONE WEEK. Jim Beard let me go from a well-known local talk station after 17 years near Labor Day 2000. No problem, Jim. All is forgiven. No problems with Neal Gladner either. Life is too damn short for carrying a grudge. Arkansas Democrat-Gazette Editorial Page editor Paul Greenberg has now fired me TWICE, the most recent being just days before the Labor Day weekend. How could I be mad at Paul  Greenberg? He is the absolute best boss I have ever had.

My dad died Sept. 8, 1965. I was 15. I had another serious loss around Sept. 9 a few years later. This is a dangerous time of year for Pat Lynch (but I never knew I had to get on the defensive in the middle of August, Mr. G.)

Everything in life eventually comes to an end, and finally, life itself. It is a mistake to depend on anything other than God’s gracious provision. When I returned to the “scene of the crime” last year, I was unsettled to see that it looked a lot like it did in autumn 1970, but there was not a hint of me or any of my drunken pals.

All the pleasant thoughts; the wonderful pizza, pickled eggs, the one-armed Indian boy who beat me at pool, the jealous wives, and the miserable Airmen who were being involuntarily transferred to Minot, N. D, are all just memories. All that remains is me and. if anybody else remembers, this world does not give a royal rat’s rump about it.

The former Office Bar; Clinton, Oklahoma

Labor Day comes and goes, and I am usually glad when it has departed like a passenger train rolling off to some mysterious name of a dot on a map. Maybe this is just the right time to get sentimental, but that is mostly private. While this is a perilous time of year, what more can go wrong? While the past has a special allure, the future is a lot more important.

About patlynch
I am a broadcaster in Arkansas, a former freelance writer and political columnist in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. Writing Coach. Speaker. Director of the Christian Foundations for Ministry program, and presently enrolled in the Anglican School of Ministry Master of Ministry program.

5 Responses to Another Labor Day, another Lyncho lament

  1. Kevin Clay says:

    Never ask, “What more can go wrong?”. You should have learned that from watching the movies. Great article, my friend! 🙂

  2. patlynch says:

    Kevin Clay? THE Kevin Clay? But you are a big radio star! Thanks for reading my humble little blog.

  3. Vickie Lee says:

    A very nice article sir.

    @Kevin Clay: I thought the same thing when I read “what more can go wrong”. I try to never utter those words. I don’t want to know the answer!

    Vickie Lee
    KHEY
    El Paso, TX

  4. patlynch says:

    I was not trying to tempt God, only using a bit of irony. Of course, Vickie, you are correct. One cannot be too careful.

  5. Pat, I really enjoyed the read. Funny thing is I could hear your pacing in the text — nice job.

    This is what you made me think about: My boys are all growed up now — just starting college, and don’t have the foggiest memory of all the things we did when they were toddlers. Father/son antics on the playroom floor, backbreaking piggy-back rides while mowing, songs every night, extra money spent on the collector’s cup. But I know that for that moment in time, it was the right thing, and helped shape them (and me).

    So as far as lasting life affect, I don’t need to tell you that you’ve been a big deal in our lives. Instead, I would offer to say that you have been a shaper. Grist, yes, and possibly oil at times for the squeaky wheels of the world, but mostly a daily shaper: the point of effective pressure at the moment we need you, with levity, and that is really enough (in my opinion). Like my being a Dad was also enough — no matter that they have no idea it happened.

    I feel the pride with you, looking back on your Labor Day firings, but don’t go climbing any towers — at any rate — especially around Labor Day!

Leave a Reply

