So long, Andy Rooney!

Have ya’ ever noticed how some people with the least talent seem to hang on and on?

Now this could never be said about me, but I think Andy Rooney’s party was over back in the late 60s. Some will say that I am jealous, but heck , I don’t care if Andy makes a living. It’s a tough world and a guy’s got to do what a guy’s got to do. It is a matter of personal taste and I am not crazy about Mr. Rooney. Anybody remember Eric Sevareid? Now I could be jealous of that Norweigen or Swede, or whatever he was? Sevareid was handsome and articulate, just like me. You would have to be really old to remember him (like older than Pat Lynch!) Andy Rooney’s essays were strictly second string. That is my opinion, and obviously the people that matter did not share my critique.

So Rooney is ready to close the door on his CBS career and here I am getting all misty. In the first place, like him or not, Andy actually had a career that goes back to the immediate post WWII days. This was the time of Edward R. Morrow and there were still some standards. Of course, the very minute Morrow saved America from McCarthy, the network made damn sure nothing like that would ever happen again. They did not fire Morrow, they made him irrelevant.

But, back to Andy Rooney. Nor only did he hang around a long time but he developed a following. That is an accomplishment. The audience can be mighty fickle.

Anyway, whenever there are big changes, we must stand back and sonder where we have been. He gave lots of people enjoyment, even if I was not one of them. He kept a chair warm and made himself part of the cultural scene. Did I mention that this guy is 92 years old? My ninety-second birthday will be in August 2042 and I wonder if anybody will remember that I was here. Of course, that is a selfish thought. Somebody always remembers and one does not always know if he “matters” in the living years.

Andy, you do not even know me, but here is a tip of the hat to a broadcaster with a lot of heart. I wish you many more happy years and one or two fulfilling projects. God bless!

About patlynch
I am a broadcaster in Arkansas, a former freelance writer and political columnist in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. Writing Coach. Speaker. Director of the Christian Foundations for Ministry program, and presently enrolled in the Anglican School of Ministry Master of Ministry program.

Leave a Reply

