Pres. Obama proposes new survailence study (I told you so!)

First of all, let me say that I told you so. Back to the 1980s, I warned about the creeping demolition of the Fourth Amendment. The reaction was typically something between indifference and scorn. NSA spying on regular American citizens? I told you so!

The President (and I voted for him, something I do not regret) says there will be new standards, safeguards, studies, protections, and restrictions on domestic surveillance on law abiding citizens. The odor of steaming excrement fresh from the dark nether regions of choice bovines fills the room.

We already have a standard. It is the Fourth Amendment to the Constitution. President Obama, who is supposed to be some sort of law professor, took an oath to uphold the Constitution. “Preserve, protect and defend.” Remember? Here is the text of the Fourth Amendment.

The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

No secret courts! No exceptions for national security! No warrantless wiretaps. Surveillance  was a favorite tool of intimidation by George III and the red coats. Searching papers and reading mail served to investigate the innermost desires and beliefs of the intellectual troublemakers who founded this nation. The tyranny we have accepted at the hands of domestic snoops may be worse than the supposed threat of international extremists.

American freedom is in the intensive care unit and may soon be headed for the embalming room. I told you so. I warned you. No blood on my hands.

 

About patlynch
I am a broadcaster in Arkansas, a former freelance writer and political columnist in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. Writing Coach. Speaker. Director of the Christian Foundations for Ministry program, and presently enrolled in the Anglican School of Ministry Master of Ministry program.

One Response to Pres. Obama proposes new survailence study (I told you so!)

  1. lingling007 says:

    Thank for nice article..I like it

    Also visit my web site:: snazzy

Leave a comment