“Lynched!” podcast bites the dust

So I guess you are due an apology. The “Lynched” podcast has come to an end and I wish to thank my many listeners. In the past few weeks, especially since adding Stitcher, the number of regular visitors to the cast had been increasing nicely. Over all, I am very proud of this venture. There are three things about my decision you should understand.

The “Lynched” show was a program of moderately high technical quality and generally had good content. I could have done better but the project was already taking up over two hours every day. The show produced zero revenue or compensation of any kind. I think it would have but that might have required a year, or more. This fall, with God as my helper, I hope to continue my education in the new Masters program at the Anglican School of Ministry.

The opportunity to obtain a serious theological education has helped me develop a broader and more well-informed viewpoint. By the time I am done, with God’s help, in two years, I will have completed over 70 hours of graduate level work. (I have been busy the past few years and already have just under 60.)

I am teaching a non-academic course in theology this fall in the Foundations program at ASM. It is for potential Licensed Lay Ministers, Catechists, and church planters.

I just turned 61 Friday, and this is a real step of faith. Many of you send very kind messages and I am more grateful than you can imagine.

I still have an avid interest in politics and American culture. The weekly column in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette will continue (Good Lord willing!) and Bill Vickery and I will keep up the Wednesday Wake Up on KARK TV Ch. 4. I am always available for a radio gig, but (as you know) my views are very much out of the norm for what is generally allowed on the air. Maybe I could be a jock on “Sixties on six” or “Willie’s Roadhouse.” I would settle for a third part-time job!

There are two media projects on my mind. One is a new blog that would deal with the moral issues of American life and the deplorable condition of our religious institutions. The other is a new podcast, but that probably not be out until sometime late in 2013.

Finally, I cannot begin to tell you the sense of disgust and revulsion I have experienced in the past few weeks as the nation for which so many fine young people gave their all has been put at risk by a bunch of crude political opportunists. In one sense, Tx. Gov. Rick Perry is right. America gets what it deserves. I am heartsick for my country.

I will occasionally post personal developments here. Follow me on Twitter @jpatlynch or on Facebook and THANKS!