My last column in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

You better get down to the corner news box, or go online for today’s historic edition of Arkansas’ newspaper of record. It contains, on the Voices page, my final column. That concludes an uninterupted 11-year weekly run, for which I am very grateful.

Whenever you see Paul Greenberg’s name on the caller ID, especially if your name is Pat Lynch, you know it is not good news. That is how it went down Saturday afternoon. Yes, Paul did speak to me personally, thus securing a promanent place in the Official Review of Lyncho Trivia as the only person to have TWICE fired Pat Lynch. The first time was back in 1993 and consisted of a voice mail message. A decent human being would not continue to bring that up after all these years, but who ever said I am a decent person? When you get Greenberg wrestled to the ground (which does not happen often) take advantage of it!

Anyway, for those of you who can’t make it through Monday without the Lynch fix, I hope you have been clipping every last one and saving them. Let’s be honest, Greenberg writes a better column. Hell, he does not have anything else to do all week long (except terrorize local columnists). John Brummett writes a better column as well. That happens to be his full-time job, and he does it well.

Not to make any excuses, but my column has always been a part-time gig and I guess that means it was bound to suffer. Nonetheless, there were a number of home runs and only a few total duds.

It is a shame the newspaper business is having such a hard time. This may be way out of line, but I don’t think newspaper people know how to save their industry, or if they even care. Now, before I get slammed by former Gazette folks, I know the reporters and production people a deeply. Furthermore, Walter Hussman cared enough to construct a subscription wall years ago. Still, they do not seem to be taking the war to the media – especially social media. (No, robo tweets do not count).

Newspapers provide an essential service. It is supposed to be an intellectual endeavor – a place to vigorously discuss issues. The great papers have historically been one-sided and partisan. In one sense, the tone of our print media has suffered the same corruption as radio because of the crude and inflexible opinions of semi-educated hosts (yes, that is me Oh Lord standin’ in the need of prayer) who care more about their own financial well being than the good of society.

So I am looking for work. My email is plynch@swbell.net and I am a lot more versatile than you might think. There is life after radio (though I would like to return someday, even if that is most unlikely) and there will be life after being a newspaper columnist.

It is always appropriate to ask, “what have I learned from all of this?” Honestly, I am not sure. It’s too soon. I feel a loss. There is always gain as well, so I am waiting to see what God has in mind.