You still REALLY can’t trust LR city hall: 2 “no” votes on Sept. 13

I note that the Zoo supporters and Arkansas Times have lined up in dutiful support of the one-half BILLION dollar sales tax increase proposed for various goodies around Little Rock. I don’t mind the Zoo getting more funds. In fact, my opinion is that the Zoo is one of LR’s finest attractions.  My problem can be summed up in two clear points.

First, the five-eighths portion is a PERMANENT tax that brings in $31 million annually . But wait a minute! Strong Mayor Mark Stodola only feels about $8 million of pressure on the yearly budget. This is the operational part of the budget and it is a Christmas tree while I feel like Scrooge.

The second part of this two-headed monster is for capital improvements; streets and such. It is he more worthy of the two but includes the $26 million of corporate welfare for the LR Chamber of Commerce. It is a classic example of corporate welfare and, judging from the non-performance of similar industrial parks, a complete rip-off.

There are plenty of important needs in this town and the big shots have the people who use government services held hostage. I say you never give in to that kind of thing. I will have no trouble voting “no” twice.